The Life & Times of Mommiehood

Here I am finding my way through uncharted waters.


Leave a comment

safe for now

We had a fun evening yesterday!

While Stephan was napping a grass fire started on Green Mountain, a few miles from our home.

Around 5pm they started saying the grass fire was moving on to the other side of the mountain, away from the homes. The wind changed direction. They called in a crew from the mountains for help. Apparently the fire was started by lightning. Dry lightning really sucks. So does very little rain and lots of gusty wind.

The craziest thing is when you walk outside and it smells like campfire. This wasn’t as bad as the Hayman fire a few years back when there was blowing ash for miles. That was scary. I had one moment when I freaked (after turning on the TV and seeing how bad the fire was), but Stephan and I prayed and I felt loads better. We had a couple laundry baskets packed and diapers and wipes by the door. Andy brought up the cat carrier. All just in case we needed to flee to Loveland. I’m so glad we didn’t have to but am glad for a place to go just in case. A friend also offered her place which was very sweet.

Here’s a few pictures of the now blackened Green Mountain (a foothill of the Rocky Mountains west of Denver).

GM fire 1GM fire 2GM fire 3GM fire 4GM fire 5

After we figured things weren’t too bad we ran out to WalMart to get some Children’s Tylenol and some throat drops. Stephan’s 2yr molars are really bothering him and Andy and I are both not feeling great. On the way home we stopped at Good Times for their “price war” 99cent frozen custard. YUM! Cheap enough that Stephan got one too. Which he enjoyed very much.

mmm custardgood to the last drop

We’ve got our last free movie this morning. We’re going to see Flicka and my friend is going to join us. Last night when I told Stephan we were going to the movie today he said “Ms. Shannon” and I told him I’d ask her. He wanted to go right away, so I was trying to explain that we’d go after breakfast. After bath he was saying something neither Andy or I understood. So I set him down and said “show me.” He went to his high chair and said again “eat breakfast” and then we got it. He wanted to eat breakfast so we could go to the movie. So cute. We finally got him distracted and in bed. I’m glad he loves going to the movies so much, and that we have popcorn to pop and cookies to take so he’ll be one happy camper! Ms. Shannon will be joining us too, so I think he’ll be tickeled pink!