The Life & Times of Mommiehood

Here I am finding my way through uncharted waters.

November is here.

Leave a comment

Where does time go??

I don’t even know when the last time i wrote was. Sigh. I spend my time doing other stuff that isn’t always the best use of my time.

So what’s new?

The biggest thing is that I’m [almost] halfway through my 21 Day Fix journey. I started the food … diet .. portion control … whatever you want to call it Oct 20th. I think the hardest part is limiting my carbs. Oh, and that milk, almond milk and coconut water are all “carbs” too. Eating a zillion veggies is also more challenging than I thought it would be and I’ve been schooled in blending in spinach (mostly yum) and kale (mostly not yum) and other veggies into fruit and yogurt smoothies. Workouts started on October 27th. Man some of those are killer! I’m grateful for the extra motivation to keep headed in the right direction though. I think the “Fix” is insane but honestly I needed a huge kick-in-the-pants change in my lifestyle. The way I was headed was not getting me anywhere but in larger clothing and that totally bums a person out!

My pants are already fitting better and little motivations like that help me stay focused. Sure I’ve broken down and ate something not part of the plan but then I’m right back where I need to be the next day and not shaming myself and diving off the cliff back to the way things were. Change is hard. I’ve had a few melt downs too when trying to figure out what I can eat and how to make something work when I don’t quite have all the right things on hand (like the time we warmed up the carnitas and I didn’t have enough carbs left for two tortillas and we didn’t have enough lettuce to make a salad). In the past I’d get veggies and not eat them, especially lettuce, before they went bad in the fridge. Not now. I think I’ve eaten more veggies in the last week than I’d previously eat in a month or two.

That’s pretty much the biggest things going on for me right now. Overhauling my life to include more protein and veggies and fewer carbs and sweet things. I’m going through Starbucks withdrawal. But overall it hasn’t been as bad as I’d thought. The first week I was hungrier, and not sure what on earth I’d eat, but now I’m even able to go out into the real world and keep portions in mind and making sure I eat more veggies than anything else and I’m not just surviving this but thriving!

After the fix: P90 with the hubs. He is going to start a few days before I finish my Fixin’ but I’ll just dive in with him after.

If this at all sounds like something you want to try let me know and I’ll get you connected with my fabulous friend Tiffany so you can get started on your journey too.

Author: AngieK

My husband Andrew and I have been married for fourteen years and love living in Colorado! Eight years ago I became a mommie to an awesome little boy and four years ago to my precious little girl. The past few years have been a whirlwind.

Leave a Reply

