The Life & Times of Mommiehood

Here I am finding my way through uncharted waters.

Even the best laid plans.

Leave a comment

Seventy years.
That sounds like forever.
I’d be 105.
That’s how long God exiled the people of Judah. Seventy years. But then the promise. God will do good things for them and bring them home.
Why? Because … He loves them. He has plans for them. Good plans. Hope. A future.

“For I know the plans I have for you,” says The Lord. “They are plans for good and not disaster. To give you a future and a hope.” Jeremiah 29:11

I believe this promise is the same for me. Even if it means that before the next seventy years is up I’ll be praising Jesus in heaven, my eternal home.

I’ve always loved this verse. God knows the plans he has for ME. Good plans. Prosperity. Hope. Future. When things are hard this promise is like a balm for my soul. Even when things are hard I know that these tough situations are making me a better person, I’m clay in the potter’s hands and He’s making me more like Him. When there is a purpose to something it’s just somehow easier to deal with. God’s plans are often not the same as my expectations or what the world would dictate, but when I really think about it all, I don’t need what I think I want or what the world says I should want. I need Jesus.

Next we are told that if we pray God will listen. If we look for Him we will find Him. He will restore us.

Usually I focus on verse 11 but the others surrounding, verses 10-14, just add to the promise.

The God of the whole universe listens to me. Me. Who am I that he should even care? But He does. He has plans for me, good plans and He will listen if I cry out to Him … in sadness, frustration, anger, joy. Doesn’t matter the emotion, He LISTENS. To me. The calling out to God allows me to find Him, He comes close to me when I take even one step toward Him. Like the parable of the prodigal son. I’m welcomed back with sincerity, excitement, joy.

He will restore me and bring me home. To Him. Just a lovely thought. Eventually all the drama and strife in this world will be gone and I will just be in His presence.

Oh what a glorious day that will be.

Author: AngieK

My husband Andrew and I have been married for fourteen years and love living in Colorado! Eight years ago I became a mommie to an awesome little boy and four years ago to my precious little girl. The past few years have been a whirlwind.

Leave a Reply

