The Life & Times of Mommiehood

Here I am finding my way through uncharted waters.

The Plan

Leave a comment

Yeah, so Facebook makes me crazy.
Not everything about it, but enough that I am deciding to avoid the site for the rest of the summer. Maybe if I write this I’ll actually do it.

Sometimes I just don’t want to see or read things, I end up discontent or frustrated or angry. For what? I’ve got so many other things going on in my life right now and I just need a break. But so often I keep going back for more.

For a few weeks I did pretty well, checked Facebook once a day, but in the last week or so I’ve spent way too much time scrolling through and reading stuff. Stuff the Facebook designates is “more important” or whatever, like they know what is important to me. Time better spent elsewhere.

So what are my replacement behaviors?
Time with my kids. They are what summer is all about after all. Doing things with them and enjoying the time we spend together. Not posting about it or ignoring them trolling Facebook posts.
Exercise. I’ve been slacking and need to get back in the routine of doing something every day. Need to keep track and eat better too.
Read and study the Bible. Stupid, but this seems to be the first thing I “forget” when things get stressful or challenging, yet this is what I need most. Time to refocus and get back to what is really important, living life so others see Jesus. Not religion but Jesus. This is the one thing that will help me get where I want to go, how I want to get there.
Learning. there are two things I want to learn this summer. 1) Job stuff. Getting caught up with my licensure and what I need to make sure I can keep being a good school psychologist. Which reminds me I need to renew NASP … 2) Whatever I need to learn to be able to work for my husband and help make his life a bit easier since he has finally taken the scary plunge and opened an office down here closer to home. So if I’m on Facebook it’ll most likely be to promote the Stone Law, LLC Facebook page.
Focus on the positives. With all the crap going on this summer hasn’t been as much of a respite as I’d hoped for. I’ve always been much more stuck in the negativity, getting frustrated and angry and carrying it around like I’m some deranged pack mule. Not wise on my part and I need to consciously focus on the positives, be grateful for what I have and all that God has provided and not get stuck in the muck and stay there. Where’s the joy in that? Joy in ALL circumstances. I figure if Paul can figure it out I can too.

There will be relapses. Facebook for me is a bit of an addiction. But hopefully knowing what I want to do with my time will help me make the shift and use my time more wisely.

Author: AngieK

My husband Andrew and I have been married for fourteen years and love living in Colorado! Eight years ago I became a mommie to an awesome little boy and four years ago to my precious little girl. The past few years have been a whirlwind.

Leave a Reply

