The Life & Times of Mommiehood

Here I am finding my way through uncharted waters.

just don’t get it

Leave a comment

I’ve been chewing on this for a while. Still doesn’t make any sense to me.

Here goes.

Heard or read that some people don’t care if their kids hold different beliefs than they do. I guess I get this mindset if we are talking about things that don’t matter: what color car to drive or how big a house you should have or where you should go to school or one’s profession or what sport to play.

But when it comes to spiritual matters and eternity, how can you not want your kids to believe what you believe? Maybe being a Hindu or Buddhist or Atheist, spiritual and eternal things don’t matter. For me, I could never say I didn’t care if my children ended up espousing anything other than what is written in the Bible. If my children reject God there are horrifying eternal consequences. How could I be okay with that?

Sure I understand that they need to decide to follow Christ on their own. I can only share what I know to be ultimate truth and trust that God will draw each of my children to Himself.

I know the Bible is true.
I know Jesus is who He says He is, fully God yet fully man.
I know Jesus died on the cross for my sins and rose again three days later.
I know that for those who do not accept God’s gracious gift of salvation there are dire consequences.
I know there is no room for other gods or religions.

I pray my children look to the Bible for guidance and wisdom and encouragement.
I pray they know Christ as their Savior.
I pray they seek God’s will for their lives.
I pray my children believe the same things I do.

Some may think I’m crazy.
For me, it’s insane to think otherwise, unless maybe there is no certainty in the absolute truth of whatever it is you believe.

But truly, things we are passionate about we want others to be passionate about as well.

Why not our children?

Author: AngieK

My husband Andrew and I have been married for fourteen years and love living in Colorado! Eight years ago I became a mommie to an awesome little boy and four years ago to my precious little girl. The past few years have been a whirlwind.

Leave a Reply

