The Life & Times of Mommiehood

Here I am finding my way through uncharted waters.

hard boiled egg smorgasbord

Leave a comment

I’ve always been more a fan of the dyeing of Easter eggs than the eating of them after.
With that said, in recent years I have acquired the ability to like and even enjoy eggs. With that said, most of the eggs I like are full of non egg goodness.

This year is the first that we have dyed eggs as a family. The past few years the boy has done so with nana, a fun project for the two of them. Since he’s now in school that didn’t work out this year, so we tackled the process ourselves. Even had some fun doing so.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

But then the dreaded “what on earth do I do with all the icky eggs now” feeling kicked in.

Thankfully, I had some help from friends and ended up with a couple good recipes. When it comes to salad, I’ve never been a measurer. So there are not many quantities where spices are concerned. Just add to your taste if you want to try one of these recipes out.

The first batch of egg salad was made mostly as one might make deviled eggs. I put in spicy mustard, olive oil mayo, sweet relish, celery and paprika. Not bad.

Then I tried a recipe from a friend’s sister, BACON-STUFFED EGGS. Holy cow was this tasty!
6 hard-cooked eggs
4 oz cream cheese, softened
mayo
prepared horseradish (not a fan of horseradish so I subbed spicy mustard)
Worcestershire sauce
pepper
bacon slices, cooked & crumbled (happened to have some real bacon bits on hand which made this step quite easy!)

Today, the last installment in the egg salad saga turned out equally delish. I had a coworker several years ago make the first egg salad I ever actually liked. All I remember is that it had dill. Never got the recipe. After making the previous recipe, I still had half the cream cheese brick leftover and decided to use that again. Made the salad so creamy! In addition to the cream cheese, I added some dill pickle juice, ground white pepper, mayo and of course a ton of dill. I found some freeze dried dill at the grocery store and it worked great. I would definitely make this again too, maybe at some point I’ll even try it with some fresh dill but I liked being able to just dump it in wit not chopping or destemming needed.

Glad I found a way to make all those eggs edible, though I still wish they were easier to peel! That part of the process takes forever.

And just for fun, some pics from Easter weekend of the kids hunting for plastic eggs and  all dressed up.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Author: AngieK

My husband Andrew and I have been married for fourteen years and love living in Colorado! Eight years ago I became a mommie to an awesome little boy and four years ago to my precious little girl. The past few years have been a whirlwind.

Leave a Reply

