The Life & Times of Mommiehood

Here I am finding my way through uncharted waters.

sleep.

2 Comments

I love sleep. I think it’s one of my favorite things.
I love staying up late and am a certified night owl.
Neither of these things mesh well with parenthood, at least not when it comes to my kids and their schedules.

Answer me this: how on earth did I end up with two kids that wake at the crack of dawn, no matter where we are or what time the clock says or what day of the week it is???

As a parent I so rarely get free time or down time or me time. Whatever you want to call it, that time usually comes when the kids are asleep. Lately I have been staying up way too late. As I mentioned earlier, I like this. In a perfect world I would stay up till 11pm and sleep in till 9am. At the very least.

I can still stay up till 11 pm, sometimes later.
The part I hate … Not being able to SLEEP IN the next day.

I know this may all change when these kids become teenagers, but I seriously wish I could just get them to stay asleep till even 8am.

I need a nap.
But once again, I used nap time to have some of that cherished me time and now they will probably wake up just as I nod off.

Guess I’ll need to go to bed early tonight.
Well, at least I’ll try to. May not succeed but the goal will be there. Something to aim for anyway.

Author: AngieK

My husband Andrew and I have been married for fourteen years and love living in Colorado! Eight years ago I became a mommie to an awesome little boy and four years ago to my precious little girl. The past few years have been a whirlwind.

2 thoughts on “sleep.

  1. My kids always wake up at the crack of dawn too. Everyone says, “Let them stay up late. That will make them sleep late and you can sleep late too.” Ummm, no. We tried that. They always get up at the same early time but they are just grumpy because they went to bed late.

  2. Exactly. NEVER works. And while we are on the subject. Time changes SUCK too!

Leave a Reply

