The Life & Times of Mommiehood

Here I am finding my way through uncharted waters.

a little bit of everything

Leave a comment

Trust. How can one word pack so much meaning into it’s five measly letters?

Maybe it’s all about timing, everything seems to be hitting home lately and all coming back to the drama in my life. This morning I listened to two missionary moms talk about raising their children and what is truly important along the way.

First they both talked about trusting in God and relying on Him through everything. Some of the situations they faced are truly fear inducing and one talked about daily making a choice to trust God and not give in to fear. Not at all what I am dealing with right now, but the idea that I need to trust God and know that what I am facing now is for a purpose resonated with me. I need to walk through all the ups and downs of life, but I do not walk alone. He is with me every step of the way. At times I kick and scream but in then end, just like any 2yo, I calm down and move on. I have had lots of 2yo moments in the past few months. Maybe this is all to prepare me for my little diva turning two in a few months …

Trusting is not easy, and neither is the all encompassing job of training my children. However, I know firsthand the result of not training children so I also know the importance of the challenging task. This and the final thing talked about, treasuring my children, go hand in hand for me. I am way to quick to focus on the frustrations, the things that bug and annoy me and do not focus as much on those things that I love and cherish in my children. My anger tends to bubble up to the surface way too quickly, way too often. And change is HARD! Alas, just like my kids, I too am a work in progress. I need to work on focusing on the positive and not getting so easily sucked down in to the muck that leads to crazy mom.

Hard to do, even harder to do consistently, but here’s to trying.

Baby steps.

Author: AngieK

My husband Andrew and I have been married for fourteen years and love living in Colorado! Eight years ago I became a mommie to an awesome little boy and four years ago to my precious little girl. The past few years have been a whirlwind.

Leave a Reply

