The Life & Times of Mommiehood

Here I am finding my way through uncharted waters.

best. birthday. ever.

Leave a comment

I don’t even know if I can specify exactly what made this year so special, probably a combination of things.

Friday we went up to Loveland. Andy had to get some work done and after lunch I headed over to Greely to visit a friend and her little guy. I enjoyed watching Violette try and give him hugs and figure out what to do with another baby her age. After heading back to Loveland and dropping Violette off with her brother at Nana’s I picked Andy up from work.

I was a bit stressed thinking we were going to miss the movie we were headed to see and felt a headache coming on.

Once we checked into the hotel and made it to the movie I started to relax. We got some Dr. Pepper and my headache stopped bothering me so much. I enjoyed Life As We Know It, maybe a bit of a sappy tearjerker, but a good flick anyway. After the movie, we headed off to Bonefish Grill for a super yummy dinner. The have some really awesome fish and I love their pomegranate martinis. It’s also the one place that I’ll actually share … and enjoy … a piece of key lime pie with Andy.

After dinner we nabbed Violette from Nana’s and headed back to the hotel for a mostly good night’s rest. She apparently has not decided to let me sleep in, not even on my birthday, and woke up chipper as can be at 4:45! Thankfully she went back to sleep after smiling and chatting with us for a few minutes and didn’t wake again till after 7am.

That morning, we had Stephan come join us at the hotel to go hang out at the pool. I was so proud of him. He showed me several of the things he’s learning at swim lessons and then had an absolute BLAST on the huge water slide there. Two older girls helped and encouraged him to give it a try and once he did he did not want to leave. Even today he still asks if we can go back to the “water slide hotel.” After our swim we cleaned up in the enormous jacuzzi tub in our room and then headed to one of my favorite places, the Coach outlet.

I found a small wristlet that will be perfect when I don’t want to carry a huge bag and will also fit essentials nicely in my much larger diaper bag so they don’t get lost amidst the baby gear. I also found a mini wallet that fits inside for my ID and a card or some cash.

On to my in-laws for my birthday brunch. We had a delicious breakfast-for-lunch and some tasty cupcakes too. My mom & dad-in-law got me a gift certificate to a favorite store and my bro-in-law one for Amazon. After lunch we left the kids for a quick shopping trip to my store where I found a fabulous pair of jeans, a new pair of khakis, a couple sweaters, a dress shirt, a belt and a lacey tank top. Everything was 50%off, which was sweet! Later, after showing my MIL my new jeans, I went back for another pair. Nice to have some since I was down to one pair.

Nothing seems super spectacular, but all together it was such a nice relaxing 24hours. We came home with the kids and watched How to Train Your Dragon and ate dinner.

I think I just really needed some time away to enjoy my family and not think about anything stressful.

Bummed I missed the game today since I had some tummy issue, but Stephan did great and had a lot of fun at his first Bronco game so it all worked out. My friend who was coming to watch the kids came anyway and stayed long enough to get Violette down for a nap so I got to rest and ended up getting in a pretty decent nap. Felt so much better after waking up and was actually able to eat.

Here’s to hoping that the past few days are a strong indication of how the rest of the year will go!

Author: AngieK

My husband Andrew and I have been married for fourteen years and love living in Colorado! Eight years ago I became a mommie to an awesome little boy and four years ago to my precious little girl. The past few years have been a whirlwind.

Leave a Reply

