The Life & Times of Mommiehood

Here I am finding my way through uncharted waters.

35 weeks … OH MY!

Leave a comment

I got my weekly email from BabyCenter and am just amazed at how fast the time is rapidly vanishing.

This time with Stephan I was waiting around resting and relaxing on summer vacation … now I’m working and stressing about work and using weekends to get the house ready for baby to come and taking care of an energetic toddler and trying somewhere in the midst of all of that to rest and not think about how sore and uncomfortable I am all the time.

I’m also very aware that I was put on bed rest at 36-37 weeks last time and wonder what will happen at my next Dr. appt Thursday. This time, maybe the medication won’t warrant that, but I am highly aware of my need to rest and relax as much as I can.

I need to take a picture of the “bump” that just keeps growing. While my height minimizes said bump, I’m still looking more pregnant than ever. I catch a glimpse of myself sideways in a mirror and it seems all the more real that there’s a baby in there!

Stephan’s been so fun lately too. I can tell he’s getting a bit excited just in that he’s more curious about baby and will often ask, “is she here yet?” To which I point to my belly and ask him where he thinks baby is. A few days back he was able to feel baby hiccuping. I think he really liked that. He sometimes talks to baby and will announce he’s the big brother, but rarely gets patient enough to feel baby moving. This time, he put his ear to my belly and felt movement, wanted to lift up my shirt and feel with his hands. Such a sweet boy. He’ll be a great big brother. Stephan was also intrigued by the pacifiers and the nipples for the bottles, so we’ve had a few discussions about babies crying a lot and sleeping a lot and the other day he says, “when baby is crying I will give her a pacifier and that will help her be happy.” We talk about other reasons babies cry and he’s just soaking it all in. I’m excited to see his nurturing side!

Speaking of the rambunctious toddler, I need to go wake him up soon. I fear if he sleeps too much he won’t go to bed nicely this evening and we won’t get daddie’s birthday cake made either.

Author: AngieK

My husband Andrew and I have been married for fourteen years and love living in Colorado! Eight years ago I became a mommie to an awesome little boy and four years ago to my precious little girl. The past few years have been a whirlwind.

Leave a Reply

