The Life & Times of Mommiehood

Here I am finding my way through uncharted waters.

graduating from the terrible twos

Leave a comment

I’d heard from several people, even perfect strangers, that three was actually worse than two. Maybe it’s because I’m in the thick of the threes, but right now, the “terrible twos” look like a warm sunny day at the park.

Do I really have another half a year left??

Ok, that might be a teensy bit on the extreme side, but right now it seems like this hellish nightmare will never end. I feel like I’m always repeating myself (who’s the broken record?) and even though my little boy knows he’s not supposed to do *insert fill in the blank here*, he just can’t seem to help himself. Add to that a side of open defiance, a dish of kicking and screaming and a dash of you can’t make me, and it’s a recipe for disaster.

We are working hard at being consistent and making sure we follow through, but what seemed to work fine and be effective … even two weeks ago … just is not cutting it anymore.

When we discovered we were pregnant, I signed up for the weekly pregnancy emails at babycenter.com and since they asked, I shared Stephan’s information with them as well. This means that I also get several emails about the rambunctious toddler. Every once in a while something turns up useful, and sometimes, even at just the right time.

Being that I’m about ready to pull my hair out, Christmas is around the corner, and I really do want to enjoy my last break before the business hits and baby comes in the spring, I was thankful for this series of articles on time-outs and toddler discipline. (I’m a little freaked that they are geared toward threes and fours, but eventually something’s got to give, right?

Each of these builds on the other and provides some great ideas and strategies, and provided some small changes that will hopefully make a HUGE impact.

My biggest issue is keeping my cool. I’m already frustrated and stressed about the whole situation and really will need to work hard at keeping that out of the equation. No sense adding to the drama. I’m hopeful gaining some additional tips on discipline now that he’s changing things up a bit will make all the difference.

So here’s to a better tomorrow!

Author: AngieK

My husband Andrew and I have been married for fourteen years and love living in Colorado! Eight years ago I became a mommie to an awesome little boy and four years ago to my precious little girl. The past few years have been a whirlwind.

Leave a Reply

