The Life & Times of Mommiehood

Here I am finding my way through uncharted waters.

counting my chickens

Leave a comment

While you aren’t supposed to count your chickens before they’ve hatched and all, here goes nothing.

For a few months now I’ve been wanting to be able to be more consistent with the potty training thing, but while working and sending Stephan all over the place it just wasn’t feasible. Last week we went to Gunnison, which entails a 4+ hour drive, and once again getting more serious with potty training was put on hold. (I did take underwear, and he did keep them dry, but we only wore them around the hotel.)

Over the weekend, we determined that we were finally just going to take the leap and nix pull-ups for everything but sleeping. I took one of our waterproof mats for use with the car seat … not perfect, but it does the job …. and so far he’s been making significantly more progress!

Monday evening he stayed dry and we were out for a couple hours. He had one oops-I-crapped-my-pants incident at the gym that morning and that was his first time at the gym in undies, so not bad.

Tuesday he stayed dry all day and after dinner we were out driving looking at a dining table we found on craigslist. On the way home he wanted to go to the park. We decided sure, we can do a few minutes at the park. When we got him out of the car he was wet. Stephan was not happy we put him back in the car and went home, really not happy. We reiterated that he needs to stay dry or we have to go home.

Wednesday there were a couple errands I needed to run and he again mentioned the park. We didn’t get out of the house till late, but I told him that if he stays dry, we could indeed go to the park for a few minutes before going home for lunch and nap. He. Stayed. DRY! The only time he was wet was after nap and since I put a pull-up over his underwear to minimize my clean-up it wasn’t too big a deal.

This morning, he stayed dry the whole way up to nana & papa’s house, for an hour in the car!

I’m so stinking proud of my big boy!

He’s finally getting there. I’m no longer as stressed about him being able to start preschool in the fall, especially since I know he can stay dry at naptime, it’s just not quite 100% yet. I think the external motivation of not being able to do fun things (like bowling, going to the park, spending time at Elitch’s and free movies at the theater) unless he stays dry, are working much better than potty candy. He does still ask for potty candy on occasion, but it certainly doesn’t hold the same power as not being able to do something he finds REALLY fun.

We just might have to take him to mini-golf sometime soon … and get that refurbished iPod too. (Which I’m secretly super happy about as it should make our flight to Chicago much easier if he can watch movies and shows on his own iPod and not mine.)

Author: AngieK

My husband Andrew and I have been married for fourteen years and love living in Colorado! Eight years ago I became a mommie to an awesome little boy and four years ago to my precious little girl. The past few years have been a whirlwind.

Leave a Reply

