The Life & Times of Mommiehood

Here I am finding my way through uncharted waters.

Chicagoland

Leave a comment

Last Thursday I left for a long weekend with my family near Chicago.

The month of May has been an interesting one with my older brother struggling and regaining his footing. I’ve been frustratedly stuck out here and not able to be much help or support.

So we found a plane ticket for me to head back home for a few days and I was able to go spend time with everyone.

Friday I got up and headed downtown with my dad to check out the Art Institute. After driving around for the better part of an hour we found an amazing, free parking spot very close to the museum and wandered inside. I really enjoy checking out their stash of impressionist paintings and should have paid more attention to the map as we ended up on the other side of the museum before I’d seen everything I wanted to. I did get to see most of what I love though. One thing that was seriously not cool: Chagall’s stained class was in storage. That was not cool. At least I didn’t have to pay to get in! I was also not impressed with the new modern wing. Maybe I just don’t get it, but I much prefer the more “ancient” art. Millennium park was pretty neat. After the museum we went to Bella Bacino’s for a delicious Chicago style stuffed spinach pizza with pepperoni and mushrooms. Mmmm. That hit the spot!

That evening after a much smaller dinner at my mom’s, my little brother and I drove up to see my older brother. He was pretty wiped so I didn’t really get much more than a hug from him, but was able to chat with my SIL and oldest niece.

Saturday morning was nice and lazy and my older brother, SIL and nieces all came over to my mom’s for the afternoon. I played LIFE with my two older nieces and my little brother and we had a lot of fun before they headed back home. An added bonus was everyone loving my homemade ice cream! My middle niece even requested that I make ice cream for her birthday in August since I’ll actually be able to be there for her birthday.

Shortly after everyone left, my mom and little brother and I headed out. I needed to stop by the outlet mall and pick up some stuff for Stephan at the Disney store. He’s been really into Mickey Mouse Clubhouse and recently picked up his small stuffed Mickey and asked, “Mommie, where’s Minnie?” Ha! Since the little animals are only 2/$10 I went in search of Minnie and something else … which ended up being Buzz Lightyear, though Stephan is a little confused as to why his stuffed Buzz doesn’t do the things the movie Buzz does as, “his buttons don’t work.” I also found a stuffed Rocket and Leo (from Little Einstein’s in case you are curious) on clearance for less than $3!

After the errand we drove down to the Cheesecake Factory to enjoy our sibling tradition. This time we included my mom since my sister is in FL. We had fun eating our cheesecake and then went home to crash … or so I thought. I started reading my new Yada Yada and decided to finish it. Then after I did, got a few texts from Andy that Stephan wasn’t feeling well and they were having a rough night. I had a tough time falling asleep as I was worried. When I finally did, I had an even harder time waking up!

Once I finally dragged myself out of bed on Sunday, my little brother and I drove up to my older brother’s house and spent the afternoon with his family. Awesome BBQ and I was able to spend some time with my brother which was very good … and why I made the trip out!

After driving a race in GT4 with the crazy wheel my brother has and talking some more, we went back to my mom’s so I could pack and my little brother could get some homework done and then he and I jammed a bit to GH Metallica. I got to try the drums … which are super hard … and see his mad skills! I was impressed.

Monday, after a traffic-free drive to the airport and an on-time flight, I got to see my much-missed boys. We had an interesting day with Stephan still being a bit crabby (I was a bit crabby too I’m sure after a 4am wake-up-call!) and the weather sucking for the Rockies game, but we made it through a BUSY weekend.

After Thursday I’m on summer break, can’t beat that!

Author: AngieK

My husband Andrew and I have been married for fourteen years and love living in Colorado! Eight years ago I became a mommie to an awesome little boy and four years ago to my precious little girl. The past few years have been a whirlwind.

Leave a Reply

