The Life & Times of Mommiehood

Here I am finding my way through uncharted waters.

’bout time

Leave a comment

I’ve just been busy. I know, lame excuse. There’s been a lot going on since the boot incident, things I’ve wanted to write about, but never gotten around to actually writing.

Sometimes I don’t even really know where exactly the time goes. It’s just gone.

So here’s the scoop, crammed as best as I can into a nutshell.

ANNIVERSARY: This has been, by far, the best part of the last few weeks. Andy and I were able to celebrate our nine years (yes, nine!) in style. We stayed downtown and played tourist in Denver. The Magnolia is a wonderful hotel and we had a huge suite all to ourselves. Thursday night we ate dinner at the Cheesecake Factory, YUM!, and then saw Phantom which was AMAZING! We had pretty great seats too, second row of the balcony. I’d never seen it and was impressed. Friday we saw Confessions of a Shopaholic for $10! I didn’t think you could still see a movie for much less than $20 so that was great. Liked the movie, though I’ve no clue why they made Rebecca American and not British, that was strange to me. We also found a Rockies Dugout store that … *gasp* … stocks clothing for women in larger sizes. They actually had a soft purple sweatshirt jacket in XL that was on the clearance rack no less! We also found a lightweight jacket for Stephan and since clearance items were buy two get one free, Andy got a sweatshirt too. Friday night was a nice dinner out at a coworker’s family restaurant. Asian food. So seriously yummy! I devoured my shrimp and scallops in lemon cream sauce. Way better than PF Changs. No question. Saturday we drove back up to get Stephan and relieve tired grandparents. Before meeting them all for lunch we stopped at the Lane Bryant up there which is huge and I got a few new clothes and some awesome coupons for when we are in MN next week and there’s no tax on clothes!!!

POTTY TRAINING: This is what I hate. Doubt there’s any parent who loves this process. The thing that I despise the most is my reaction to “accidents.” I need to chill and sometimes I am fine. But then there are times like today. We are outside playing and I ask Stephan if he needs to go peepee in the potty and he says no. Then, not 30 seconds later, he pees all over himself. Grr. I kinda lost it. He’s been doing fine since. We’ll see how the rest of the afternoon progresses. And dinner out at CPK. And our road trip. Seems like there are so many road blocks to the whole consistency thing. I just want to give up but that’s me being frustrated and lazy.

YOGURT & GRANOLA: My mom sent me a yogurt maker. Took a bit for the whole setup to come and us to have the time to make a batch, but we finally did. My first batch was a learning experience and will need some tweaking. I don’t think I left it incubating long enough since it’s a bit on the soupy side and might put a bit more honey in next time so it’s a bit sweeter. The granola came out pretty tasty. Hopefully, I’ll get the perfect mix and time down sooner rather than later.

WORK: Things are busy as usual. I took Thursday off last week and just RELAXED. I slept in later than I have in years and felt so refreshed. Ready for Phantom and a fun weekend. I’m so ready for spring break next week. We are heading out on a LONG trip. Our first stop will be our friend’s farm in NE. Stephan is SO EXCITED about the goats. After two days on the farm, we’ll drive to MN and hang with cousins while we travel around visiting grandpa, gram and other family. After three short days we’ll drive back to Omaha, eat dinner with some college friends and go to the zoo in the morning before driving to stay the night with two more college friends before heading back home. We’ll be busy and spend a lot of time in the car, but I’m thinking it’ll be a blast … all except that one long 12 hour day in the car.

DOCTORS: I had a long overdue physical at the doctor last week. Everything pretty much is great. Save the fact that I’m having an impossible time losing weight. I got all kinds of blood work done and it’s all good.

Andy’s home and now we are off to dinner. We are headed to CPK since they have free kids meals on Mondays. I’m looking forward to some fabulous food.

I’ll try and be better about posting …

Author: AngieK

My husband Andrew and I have been married for fourteen years and love living in Colorado! Eight years ago I became a mommie to an awesome little boy and four years ago to my precious little girl. The past few years have been a whirlwind.

Leave a Reply

