The Life & Times of Mommiehood

Here I am finding my way through uncharted waters.

need a laugh?

Leave a comment

While this was not fun, it sure was funny.

When I came home from work today I needed to work on getting dinner ready and straightening up a few things before a friend came over for dinner and to watch Stephan while we went to a planning meeting for our Sunday school class.

I was working on raw chicken, cutting it up, sucking up some of the moisture with paper towels. Fun stuff. In the process our trash got really full so I decided to wrap it up and take it out. Not all the way out to the trash, but in the stairwell so we could take it out later, when we left. I go outside, set it down and her the front door slam shut.

Unfortunately, Stephan’s love of shutting the front door is not something I thought about. Our door is such that you can open it from the inside and leave it locked on the outside. Yes folks, I was locked out. We’ve put one of those things on the door knob that keeps Stephan from opening the door too, so there was no getting back in.

I had been talking to Andy on speakerphone so I told Stephan through the door to go tell daddie that he locked me out. Thankfully, Andy was only 25 minutes away, but that’s still a long time to have a toddler alone in the house … with raw chicken on the counter. Stephan went to the phone and told Andy, “I closed the door daddie, mommie’s on the other side.” When Andy called out my name and didn’t get a response he figured something was up. I went to the kitchen window and got Stephan’s attention and told him to go watch his movie. When he was over by the tv I went and sat down on the stairs and tried to get my feet warm, since I didn’t have any shoes, and laughed.

After a few minutes I decided to try and get Stephan to open the sliding glass door. He so didn’t get that. I freaked him out a little too I think. Finally, Andy came home and was very relieved to discover that I was just locked out, nothing more serious. We went in and gave Stephan a hug and then I got dinner all taken care of.

Everyone needs a little adventure right? And, now we know that Stephan can’t get out of the house!

Author: AngieK

My husband Andrew and I have been married for fourteen years and love living in Colorado! Eight years ago I became a mommie to an awesome little boy and four years ago to my precious little girl. The past few years have been a whirlwind.

Leave a Reply

