The Life & Times of Mommiehood

Here I am finding my way through uncharted waters.

what’s there to say

Leave a comment

Yesterday was our first worst-ever-dining-out-experience-with-a-toddler. Stephan is usually great when we take him out, but lately he’s been having some tow-year-old fun pushing boundaries. Last night we went to Chili’s and he started out in underwear. He’d been keeping them dry so we went out in them. Of course, I talked up making sure he used the potty when he needed to peepee or poopoo. We went almost immediately after sitting down and he went in the potty. We got excited and he got some potty candy. Then, maybe 2 minutes later he said he had to peepee again. So we went back and after he sat on the potty … and did nothing … he said he was all done and we went back to sit down again. After repeating this about twice more, I realize he’s really just excited about the atuo flush on the potty. While that might be very humorous, it’s also very annoying when you are trying to eat your dinner and only get 30 seconds to 2 minutes at a time to actually sit and enjoy your meal.

Eventually, Andy took him and put on a pull-up. He did go peepee one more time before we left. He also started getting out of his chair and climbing and facing backwards in his chair. We finally got a highchair to sit him in, which he didn’t like but consequences are consequences. After trying to climb out of the high chair I ended up taking him out to the car for a time-out. He really didn’t like that, but after telling me he would sit in his chair and finish his dinner we went back in. He was great after that!

You think that might be the end of the dinner from h— but no, Stephan ate some more mac’n’cheese and then wanted to have an ice cube. He did not chew the ice cube, but swalowed it whole and then after a bit threw up on me. Oh the joy. And we still had a few stores to go to. At least baby wipes clean up the mess pretty good … not the smell as much, but the mess.

Sleeping has been interesting too. I’m not sure if it’s totally related to him getting up so early or just his excitement about new toys and fun things. He’s been a bit of a bear, and he’s good at pushing my buttons. I’m glad Andy’s around a lot this weekend to give me breaks.

Today we have some people coming over to do something to the sewerish drain in our condo. I’m a bit peeved we also have all these extra HOA dues as a result of various changes but not much we can do. Guess maybe we should get with the program and try and make it to some of the board meetings.

Might go play some games and try and have some fun before Stephan gets up. He is enjoying the snow today, though he can’t move around very easily in all his snow gear. Took video, not pictures, so I don’t think I can post anything yet. We’ll see.

Author: AngieK

My husband Andrew and I have been married for fourteen years and love living in Colorado! Eight years ago I became a mommie to an awesome little boy and four years ago to my precious little girl. The past few years have been a whirlwind.

Leave a Reply

