The Life & Times of Mommiehood

Here I am finding my way through uncharted waters.

one thing i hate about the “work-life balance”

Leave a comment

Is that really, there is no balance. When it comes to emergencies I can’t say, “well last time I took care of the kid, this time I’ll stay at work.” Every time I have to take care of the kid. Every time I have to forgo whatever it is that I need to get done at work and go get the kid. I don’t like shirking responsibilities, but family always trumps everything else.

Today was one of those days. I get a call around 11:30 saying Stephan had diarrhea this morning and again just before the call. So I determine that it’d be great if I could stay at work till a meeting I had set up at 1:30 with a student and teacher. That would most likely get me back to pick up Stephan at 2:30, hoping that he could go down for nap shortly after 12 and get a good nap in while I finished up a few things at work. Ten minutes later I get another call. He’s thrown up and that means canceling what I had going at work and zooming off to pick him up. Everyone is very understanding at work but I’m only at this school a few hours a week and now tomorrow is in jeopardy as well.

Thankfully, Andy might be able to work a half day and then I can go in for a few hours and try and finish up meeting with students. But his meetings are all in the afternoon and of course tomorrow is a late-late start for kids so if I went in in the morning it’d be useless since there would only be an hour with students and the rest of my time would be in some sort of possibly irrelevant professional development. I just hate that I have to put a hold on my responsibilities at work sometimes. That, and I don’t have many sick days either so they seem to disappear rapidly.

Truly, I hope Stephan will feel better. I’m glad he gets to nap in his own bed. I’m glad I can be there for him when he’s feeling yucky. I just wish he’d be sick on the days I don’t have to work.

Author: AngieK

My husband Andrew and I have been married for fourteen years and love living in Colorado! Eight years ago I became a mommie to an awesome little boy and four years ago to my precious little girl. The past few years have been a whirlwind.

Leave a Reply

