The Life & Times of Mommiehood

Here I am finding my way through uncharted waters.

lunch time

Leave a comment

I love the weeks I have two days at my middle school. I have a lot to do here and often wish I could do even more. Thankfully, I’ve accomplished a great deal in the last day and a half. I’ve still got several reports to finish and need to get working on a group I will be doing in the near future. I’ve got to come up with eight lessons around problem solving and dealing with difficult situations without getting oneself in trouble. Should be interesting. I’ve got stuff, just need to get it all pulled together, AND get a pre-post test written since I’ll be doing this group as part of one of my goals for the year. The social worker and I are doing the other goal together and got the pre-survey emailed out to staff this morning. I’m glad to get that one started! I figured out how to create an online survey on survey monkey and hope it comes out well.

Everything seems to be a multi-step process and and exercise in patience and multi-tasking. I often feel like I’ve got 15 things I’m juggling at this school and really need to be focused and organized to get them done or follow-up as needed. Some teachers are really supportive and helpful which makes the work I do easier. Others I really have to work with and that makes everything more challenging. One exciting thing is that I should have my new computer all set to go next week. I will be making sure all the documents I need are off this computer and on my jump drive. Thankfully there aren’t too many so that shouldn’t take long.

So what do I do? Blog during lunch time. That or go to my friend’s house for lunch time sanity breaks!

Today there’s a staff meeting about interventions for kids with ADHD. Should be interesting. After that I’m going to bust a move and get home. No need to stay for the rest. Probably don’t even need to go to this first part, but it’s good to have some level of presence in the school community. I’ve never been at this school on Wednesdays before so this first meeting will be interesting.

Just because: [steps up on soapbox] Like I mentioned yesterday, I voted. Hope you all did too. While I’m not excited about the election’s outcome, I honestly wouldn’t have been either way. I wasn’t really sold on either candidate and just voted for the one I deemed less scary. However, I truly believe that God is the one who places men and women in places of power and leadership, in government and elsewhere. He’s the one in charge, allowing things to happen. We need to respect and pray for our leaders no matter who they are or how much we like or dislike them. Why is it so hard to remember to do that? We also have a responsibility to stand up for what we believe in and seek to figure out how to do so, even in the most challenging of circumstances. If you care to leave a comment, please leave Hitler, Stalin and other evil dictator type people out of things. Thank you! [steps off soapbox]

Back to work.

Author: AngieK

My husband Andrew and I have been married for fourteen years and love living in Colorado! Eight years ago I became a mommie to an awesome little boy and four years ago to my precious little girl. The past few years have been a whirlwind.

Leave a Reply

