The Life & Times of Mommiehood

Here I am finding my way through uncharted waters.

interesting day

Leave a comment

We had a lot of boring yesterday. Haircuts (though sorely needed, not all that exciting), errands. Multiple trips to Target to make sure they didn’t end up billing me twice for groceries Friday night (I won’t bore you with the details, but we went to Target four times in 24 hours). We went to BRU to see what potty chair options they had. I looked at the Target and WalMart in Loveland on Thursday and wasn’t super impressed with the selection. We took Stephan and our $5 off coupon and found the cutest little froggy potty chair. I was about ready to pay the money for the Baby Bjorn since it was longer than all the others and seemed like it’d fit a kid without squishing parts. Then Andy found this Fisher price one that was also long and $10 cheaper and super cute!

WARNING: Potty talk ahead 🙂

Stephan’s been interested in the big potty for a while, and we tried a potty ring, but he seems so nervous sitting on the big potty, too nervous to actually pee or poo. After having my pediatrician say in July that we should get a small potty and then the potty Dr. at our Children’s Hospital seminar two weeks ago say basically the same thing, I caved and we went in search of the right potty chair.

When we came hope I plopped Stephan on it, gave him a couple M&M’s (a.k.a. “potty candy”) for sitting down and then more when he produced a little dot of pee. He kept asking for more candy and I’d kindly tell him not till he went pee-pee or poo-poo in the potty. He was quite motivated for more candy. Just before bed he wanted more candy and sat on the potty and got some serious potty on! There was a big puddle in there, not just a small drop of pee!

We praised him up the wazoo and he was even saying, “are you proud of me?” Loved getting some more potty candy too. So far so good. We’ll keep working at it. Have a huge stash of diapers so there’s no rush or anything but we’ll get there. Next month we’ll be getting him some underwear. That will be more of an expense than the $15 potty chair but hopefully next month my paycheck will finally include the backpay I’m owed (another long story) and we’ll be able to get several pairs of undies since I’m sure we’ll need a few to get us through some accidents.

On to more potty success!

Author: AngieK

My husband Andrew and I have been married for fourteen years and love living in Colorado! Eight years ago I became a mommie to an awesome little boy and four years ago to my precious little girl. The past few years have been a whirlwind.

Leave a Reply

