The Life & Times of Mommiehood

Here I am finding my way through uncharted waters.

kudos from the boss man

Leave a comment

I like my boss. Erm, manager.

Working in schools I have several bosses, the principals at my schools and then the manager of all the psychs and social workers. I like our manager. He’s a nice guy who knows a lot of stuff and has your back when needed. I actually had a class or two with him in grad school. He’s got a PhD in clinical psych and was being re-certified to work in schools.

Last year he was awesome support when we had a tough case at my charter and really backed up what the team decided was the right thing to do. Near the end of the year when I was so hurt and, well pissed, about my scheduling at my middle school he told me he didn’t get it either “given what a strong psych you are.” I was grateful for the compliment and it will always have a place in my “happy folder!”

Today we had an interesting meeting at my high school. The principal there is having a hard time understanding and respecting confidentiality. Not so much with me, but with the social worker. I was invited to the meeting and while my manager didn’t quite make it due to getting lost, he eventually came and “debriefed” with a few of us since the principals both had other meetings.

On the way out he asked what ever came of the time issue at my middle school and after going through the saga with him and telling him how I finageled money for the time I worked and a new computer, he said that he had a high opinion of me before and it’s even stronger now.

I was so glowing!

Advocating for myself is my one weakness and I am working on it but it’s not so easy. I’m glad to have some positives amidst the somewhat negative of losing time at a school that was willing to give me more time. I think he was also a bit impressed that the staff at the school are advocating for me as well.

So while I was totally annoyed that I had to drive to my other school this afternoon for a meeting, I’m glad I did!

Author: AngieK

My husband Andrew and I have been married for fourteen years and love living in Colorado! Eight years ago I became a mommie to an awesome little boy and four years ago to my precious little girl. The past few years have been a whirlwind.

Leave a Reply

