The Life & Times of Mommiehood

Here I am finding my way through uncharted waters.

an end to the work saga

Leave a comment

Here I sit. At home. My schedule and life in general finally feeling manageable.

The last few weeks I’ve been working at my middle school Mondays but today my schedule changed again. Hopefully for the last time. I’m thankful Stephan’s sitter has been so accommodating with all these changes!

I found my principal this morning and she said, “looks like I’ll just have to find another $7,000 so we can have you 2.5 days.” Any spring that would be music to my ears, but not so much right now. Not when I have another school where I’m at 1.5 days/week.

Over the weekend I’ve been thinking and praying and stressing about just that. Working 2.5 days/week has been a nice balance since Stephan was born. The past two years I’ve been willing to up that to 3 days/week but have only been scheduled for 2.5 days.

Now, the idea of changing to 4 days/week has just plain been overwhelming. If only I didn’t like my other school. Then I’d tell my principal “Great!” and my other school “Buh-bye.” But, there is still the chance that money could disappear with the results of the October count and then I’d have problems finding another school to fit the hole in my schedule. So, I told her that as much as I hate to turn down the time I just can’t handle 4 days/week and need to stick to 3 days/week.

Honestly, I think she was relieved as well from the budget standpoint. I did have two things that I requested. First, I want to make sure I get paid for the three days that I worked last month. Second, I want a new computer. The one I have now is a piece of crap and is so freaking slow! With less time at the school the last thing I need is to be waiting and waiting and waiting on my computer to open documents and emails and get started up in the morning. She agreed to those two things so I’m happy.

While it’s not perfect, I feel good about my decision. Stephan and I have both had a tough time dealing with the extra time I was working and now that we’ll be back to having two days every week together I am hoping things go better. He’s just been kind of a pill lately. We haven’t been clicking and I feel like I’m always annoyed at him about something. He’s also super clingy when I leave him at daycare and always asking for daddie, like he knows I’m not there for him as much as I used to be. Breaks my heart. Here’s to hoping we can get into our routine again soon and things will be better for everyone!

Author: AngieK

My husband Andrew and I have been married for fourteen years and love living in Colorado! Eight years ago I became a mommie to an awesome little boy and four years ago to my precious little girl. The past few years have been a whirlwind.

Leave a Reply

