The Life & Times of Mommiehood

Here I am finding my way through uncharted waters.

potty time

Leave a comment

I’ve not really been working at potty training. In May we bought an Elmo potty seat for the big potty and a step stool for Stephan to climb up. We let him sit and try it out. Usually these instances lasted about a tenth of a second and then he was ready to move on. There are a couple girls in his Sunday school class who are potty trained and he’s been getting really into the potty. I’m not ready to focus on potty training, but am not going to let his interest go to waste either. So when he asks to go potty we are taking him and sitting him down. We’ve even used a few pull-us, though I’m not wanting to get him too used to those since they are pricey. Diapers are expensive enough as it is.

This morning he wanted to go potty and I set him down. Then I heard a little TINKLE! I was so excited and then daddie came in and we called Papa to share the wonderful news. I had Andy bring in Stephan’s “underwear,” some Gerber plastic training pants I found on clearance a while back. Stephan was excited about wearing underwear, but alas, he ended up getting excited when our friend came over for lunch and went potty without telling me and was a bit of a soggy mess. We went back to diapers for the moment.

I’m just happy to see the progress he’s made in the past few months. He will now sit on the potty for 30 seconds to a minute or more. It’s definitely baby steps, but seeing progress makes me one happy mama!

Author: AngieK

My husband Andrew and I have been married for fourteen years and love living in Colorado! Eight years ago I became a mommie to an awesome little boy and four years ago to my precious little girl. The past few years have been a whirlwind.

Leave a Reply

