The Life & Times of Mommiehood

Here I am finding my way through uncharted waters.

another day, another dollar

Leave a comment

First day jitters are now over.

I was nervous more about the scheduling concerns at my new school and really wanting to start off on the right foot. Thankfully, while most of the staffing team seem disappointed that things will not be the same as last year, they appear to be coping okay with the days I need to be there. I feel bad, but there’s not much I can do to change my schedule. When I finally got to touch base with the principal she seemed totally fine with the days I needed to be there and working every other week a full day instead of half days every week (this will save us close to $20 on the weeks I don’t work!).

Moving on to my other school, where I’ve been for three years now … The afternoon professional development was regarding PBS. Not the tv station, Positive Behavior Support. I am glad I was there as I discovered that several people seem to think I’m a PBS queen. I went to one conference. ONE. Apparently that and the title “psychologist” make me some sort of expert. I don’t completely mind. The principal thinks I’m a data guru and can help a lot with collecting and analyzing data. Again, I don’t mind. Makes me nervous as I’ve never really done anything like that, but I’m sure I can get some help and guidance from someone who’s had more experience. The reason I don’t mind (though don’t get me wrong, I’m a little freaked out) is that I’m hoping being involved in this whole PBS process as much as humanly possible in one day a week will help the principal begin to recognize that I am valuable and possibly even worth finding some money to buy me more time next year. Thankfully there are those at the school who do value what I do. A teacher I worked with last year thanked me today and the SPED director told me I was the best psychologist. Sometimes you need the warm compliments to remember why you leave your toddler to go to work.

We’ll see how the year pans out, but so far I think it will be a good year. Tough and challenging, but still good.

Author: AngieK

My husband Andrew and I have been married for fourteen years and love living in Colorado! Eight years ago I became a mommie to an awesome little boy and four years ago to my precious little girl. The past few years have been a whirlwind.

Leave a Reply

