The Life & Times of Mommiehood

Here I am finding my way through uncharted waters.

stubbornness and bedtime

Leave a comment

Yes folks, Stephan has inherited my stubborn trait.

Or maybe it’s just him trying to figure out boundaries and trekking through the interesting “terrible twos.” Either way, he’s darn good at waiting till the last minute to listen to you and is already a pro at manipulating, whoever says we aren’t born sinners hasn’t had any kids.

Lately, the biggest drama has been around bedtime. We go through our typical routine and do bath time, story time, prayer time and then we tuck him in and say good night. After we’ve left the room it takes him five seconds or less before he’s crawled out of bed and is tearfully asking for another “tuck in” over and over. When we say, “you’ve already been tucked in, no more tucking in tonight,” he cries a bit harder. When he first started this I’d wait till he’d calmed down on his own and when he asked quite nicely to be tucked in again I’d go tuck him in and then he’d stay in bed and go to sleep. Now he’s started pushing that so we clamped down and it’s one tuck in, the first one, and that’s it, NO MORE. Well, last night he ended up whining and complaining at the gate till he finally pooped out …

Falling asleep at the gate after no one will "tuck in" again.
Falling asleep at the gate after no one will “tuck in” again.

Today, I’m crafting this post, on guard so to speak in the hallway, he’s asking for another “‘tuck in” and I was letting him know he wasn’t getting one. Out of the corner of my eye I saw him climb into bed and thought, “finally, he’s going to climb in bed and lay down on his own.” After going through that twice, here we are:

This time he brought Pop.

This time he brought Pop.

That’s right. He got in bed to get his trusty companion Pop and then back to curl up on the floor for nap.

What is this? If the floor is such a great place to sleep, why do we spend money on expensive beds and cribs? Sometimes I really wish I could know what he was thinking.

Last night I put him in the big bed after I knew he was sound asleep, but I’m a bit nervous about doing that for naptime when he doesn’t always sleep as soundly. Guess it can’t hurt him to sleep for two hours on the floor.

Author: AngieK

My husband Andrew and I have been married for fourteen years and love living in Colorado! Eight years ago I became a mommie to an awesome little boy and four years ago to my precious little girl. The past few years have been a whirlwind.

Leave a Reply

