The Life & Times of Mommiehood

Here I am finding my way through uncharted waters.

Our Engagement Story

Leave a comment

Because yesterday was our 8th anniversary and we spent the weekend in Estes & RMNP … 

So I’m one of those girls who knew it was coming. We had talked about getting married and Andy asked my dad’s permission (we all went to lunch together since my dad can be somewhat intimidating) and went shopping for rings before I left on my summer missions trip to Russia. Then halfway through the summer, when my team actually got mail, one of the letters Andy had written included a small picture of my ring. He’s not the best with surprises JWhen I returned to Colorado I knew he was taking me to dinner at a nice restaurant and since I had hoped to be somewhat surprised I asked him not to propose when he took me to dinner, because I’d expect that.Instead, earlier in the week he took me up to Rocky Mountain National Park with a picnic and a huge backpack in tow. We ate lunch in the Endo River Valley listening to the sounds of the river and then went off on a hike that was supposed to lead us up one of the smaller mountains/foothills. However, every path we took dead ended at a swampy marsh. Apparently whoever gave him the idea to do this hike didn’t give the greatest directions to the trailhead JIn spite of the swampiness, we still had fun. Andy bent down once to “get some water” and I thought “he’s going to ask me now!” but, he drank some water. After dead ending another time or two he did pull out the ring instead of getting water! I honestly don’t remember anything more than him asking if I’d marry him and me saying yes. Course I have an awful memory most of the time.After giving up any ideas of finding the trailhead we left the swamp and went to the Alluvial Fan. Part of my surprise was a delicious dessert of chocolate dipped strawberries. Then we spent some time climbing around the rocks and watching the waterfall.When we got back to Andy’s parent’s house they made us a steak dinner to celebrate and I called my family.Later that week, the fancy dinner was in celebration of our engagement!

Author: AngieK

My husband Andrew and I have been married for fourteen years and love living in Colorado! Eight years ago I became a mommie to an awesome little boy and four years ago to my precious little girl. The past few years have been a whirlwind.

Leave a Reply

