The Life & Times of Mommiehood

Here I am finding my way through uncharted waters.

VotD from Facebook 8/2/07

Leave a comment

This is the Verse of the Day I have on Facebook, and my thoughts on said verse after reading it. 

“Until now you have not asked for anything in my name. Ask and you will receive, and your joy will be complete.”    John 16:24

So I’ve read this verse many times. This time it struck me how many people choose to interpret this focusing on the ask then receive part.

But, what does it mean to ask for something in Jesus’ name? Maybe when we get mad because we ask for something and don’t receive it, that’s the reason. Maybe to ask in Jesus’ name means we are asking for the right reasons. Maybe we aren’t being selfish and asking for our problems to go away, we’re asking for God to give us the strength to get through. Which he does. Time and time again.

Maybe we need to pay attention, because the answers we seek are not always the ones provided. And always looking back we can see that the answer God provided was the right one.

Oh that my joy were complete. I need to think about this a little more …

Author: AngieK

My husband Andrew and I have been married for fourteen years and love living in Colorado! Eight years ago I became a mommie to an awesome little boy and four years ago to my precious little girl. The past few years have been a whirlwind.

Leave a Reply

