The Life & Times of Mommiehood

Here I am finding my way through uncharted waters.

Adventure in the Mountains

Leave a comment

We had an interesting and moderately terrifying trip back home from the mountains on Saturday. After leaving Georgetown we saw a sign over I-70 stating that there was an accident ahead, advising an alternate route.

Not knowing offhand what an alternate route could possibly be, we first called our friend who works for CDOT and he called back with the information that the accident was recent so we could be waiting for a while and that he did not know of any alternate routes. We also enlisted the help of Andy’s dad who, after looking on the internet, found another route from Idaho Springs up and over a mountain into Central City. We decided to go for it instead of parking on I-70 for several hours and ended up having quite the adventure.

We started out on pavement, but not for long! Before we knew it we were traveling on a very narrow gravel road full of potholes and steep dropoffs sans guardrails. The drive we were on reminded me of some of the roads we traveled on between fjords in Norway with my family when I was younger. The views were stunning but we were glad when we hit pavement at the top of the mountain. While the pavement may have been covered in dirt and sand for a few miles, it was still pavement. We also traveled through Central City and Black Hawk, which otherwise we may never have been too. Neat to see all the old buildings and mines and scenery along the way. Bummer that the drive home from Idaho Springs that usually takes about thirty minutes took two hours!

Check out my Flickr site for some pictures of our time in the pool at the Park Hyatt and our adventure up and down the mountain.

New information I learned post posting: the road less traveled was previously named “Oh My God Rd.” and while aptly named, deemed inappropriate and changed to Virginia Canyon Dr.

Author: AngieK

My husband Andrew and I have been married for fourteen years and love living in Colorado! Eight years ago I became a mommie to an awesome little boy and four years ago to my precious little girl. The past few years have been a whirlwind.

Leave a Reply

