The Life & Times of Mommiehood

Here I am finding my way through uncharted waters.

Growing

Leave a comment

Every parent will tell you that when you have a baby they grow so fast and that you should cherish every moment. While some people think that you just live for the big “milestones” like rolling over, sitting up, crawling, walking and first words, there’s so much more you notice when you are around a child almost 24/7. There are surely times when I would love more sleep, but there’s so much to enjoy and be thankful for each day, so much I already miss from when he was a newborn. A wonderful gift that I can have not only the memories, but also photos and videos to remember the special moments.

 Just yesterday I was amazed to watch Stephan get another “baby step” closer to walking. When you witness all the little steps it takes for a child to crawl or walk you really notice what a miracle it is, a blessing from God, that any of us can walk and talk and think critically. We learn so much in that first year that is the foundation for the rest of our lives. How to trust. How to be brave and take risks. How to love and be loved unconditionally. How to play. How to rest. How others respond to us. These things shape us in various ways. It makes me a bit scared and nervous about the awesome responsibility of being a parent and raising my son to be a good man who loves the Lord with all his heart and respects those he meets and interacts with. It’s a good thing! If I wasn’t anxious about doing a good job as a mother or wasn’t thinking about the influence I have over my son … now that would be downright terrifying.

Author: AngieK

My husband Andrew and I have been married for fourteen years and love living in Colorado! Eight years ago I became a mommie to an awesome little boy and four years ago to my precious little girl. The past few years have been a whirlwind.

Leave a Reply

